sHero Eleven feat. Vince Kidd.

Vince Kidd is an artist from South West London. He writes his own tunes and collaborates with other artists on creating sick visuals to further enhance his story telling.  Vince is all for breaking boundaries, crossing lines and representing people who are considered ‘different’ or ‘weird’. As an unsigned artist he’s making his shit happen by himself and by connecting with others – that’s why for us he’s a sHero. Here he answers our ‘Eleven’.

What’s the best thing about being a woman?
Hard to say as I have a cock and bollocks ha! Actually after answering question two, I’ll come back to this and say.. Having a baby maybe. Not the actual moment where you’re pushing a human out of your vagina (that sounds painful as shit) but like bringing an actual human into this world who’s been growing in your tummy for 9 months. Reproduction is so cool!

What’s the hardest thing about being a woman?
I can imagine periods being a jarr. And child birth sounds painful as shit. And when I see any of my girls getting cat called by men it gets my back up. I’m in music so I’ve experienced sexism with some of my friends eg. Men in ‘power’ trying to get sex off girls promising to further a career. The world is crazy. I see a lot of gentlemen, but for every gent I feel like there’s double the amount of chauvinistic pigs.

What’s the best thing about being human?
Falling in love, creating beautiful things with our souls, imaginations and talents.

What’s the best piece of advice you were ever given by a woman?
Compromise? For what? – Eartha Kitt

What’s your biggest achievement?
My relationships and the new music and visual little world I’ve created.

What do you admire in other women?
Female energy is magical. It’s sensitive, it’s like you could be in a fucked up head space and hide it so good, say nothing, but the lionesses around you, they just feel it and they’re gonna work that magic and lift you up again.

What five women dead or alive would you invite to a dinner party?
Imogen Goldie Wells. Diane Goldie. Allegra Goldie. Amy Winehouse. Grace Jones.

What book had an impact on you and why?
Just Kids by Patti Smith. I just relate to it and take comfort from it, especially as a struggling artist. I love it.

What is your advice for dealing with ‘one of those days’?
That girl in Almost Famous says “I always tell the girls, never take it seriously. If you never take it seriously you never get hurt, if you never get hurt you always have fun, and if you ever get lonely just go to the record store and visit your friends.” I always used to say that. I dunno if that’s actually good advice cause I guess you have to take stuff seriously sometimes but it sounds cute. I just take it as when it gets dark, go and have a laugh with your friends or play your favourite tunes!! Music and joke are pure medicine.

Who are your sheros?
Too many… My mum. Isabella Blow. Sophia Copolla. Princess Nokia. Pam Hogg. Eartha Kitt. Grace Jones. Amy Winehouse. Imogen Goldie Wells. Grimes. Tori Allen Martin. Patti Smith. Janis Joplin. Kate Tempest. Diane Goldie. Alma Har’el. Free Tinker. Bjork. PJ Harvey. Nan Goldin. Erykah Badu. Siouxie Sioux. Yolandi Visser. Babysol. Nym. Tallulah. Cartier. To name some!

What shero do you nominate to answer next?
Vanessa White.

Find out more about Vince by clicking here.

Watch his latest video – ‘Almost Angels’ here.

Leave a Reply

